About 5 years ago this great jewelry designer, Billy Van Bakker, opened a store in Saugerties. And I just LOVED it. The jewelry was really fabulous, different, and stunning.

I know a little bit about jewelry, because back in 2000 I co-founded a jewelry line called White Trash Charms. We had it on Sarah Jessica Parker, Jennifer Lopez, Alicia Keyes, Ryan Phillipe, Gwen Stefani… So I know from what I talk!  (and by the way I still have a few of these pieces left – if you want to buy them let me know – 14K Gold & some sterling silver!)  

And when I saw Billy’s line, I felt that he understood what jewelry has to do; it has to look good on its own and be something you want forever. But it also has to look good with your outfits and make it pop.

He was very successful, but like a lot of designers, he didn’t want to be running a store. So he closed up and disappeared from my life. Insert sound of heart breaking here! 

Then he shows up at DIG a few months ago and tells me the most fabulous news— he has a new partner, An Dao, and they have a new jewelry business. When he showed me the pieces, I freaked! This jewelry was so playful and mysterious, completely unique and spectacular.  

I was thrilled and of course we wanted to show it at DIG… and then he told me the business was called BLACK DAISY! He told me a long story about why they named it that, but really, I secretly think it’s named after me!

The pieces are made from precious and semi-precious stones, and these charm bundles that can be put together in a million different ways. You can design your own necklaces… you can have mother/daughter necklaces, or friend necklaces, or pieces that you build on over the years.

 

What I particularly like is that the Black Daisy pieces make a funky little racer back tee really pop, or it looks truly elegant with a Hale Bob dress.

Every piece is made from the highest quality gold fill, so it wears like gold at a fraction of the price! And really, who doesn’t love that?

This weekend, we’re having a BLACK DAISY trunk show at DIG. Friday night from 6 til 9, and Saturday from 12-5. Billy & An will be on hand with lots of unique and special pieces for the Trunk Show only, + we’ll have some tasty drinks and goodies too! Make it a date Friday night, or swing by on Saturday. Don’t miss it!     

–Daisy

Written with Martha Frankel:

DIG | 89 Partition St.  Saugerties, NY | (845) 246-3833 | shop online digtheshop.com | www.digtheshop.comfacebook.com/digsaugerties | twitter @digtheshop

READ THIS BLOG ONLINE @ digtheshop.com/blog